1911 – 2011: Celebrating the 100th Anniversary of the1911 World Champion Philadelphia Athletics

The Philadelphia Athletics cruised to the American League pennant in 1911, beating out the second-place Detroit Tigers by 13 and a half games. Led by the pitching of Jack Coombs (28 wins), Eddie Plank (22 wins), Chief Bender (17 wins), and Cy Morgan (15 wins), and the bats of Eddie Collins (.365 BA), Frank Baker (.334 BA), Danny Murphy (.329 BA), and Stuffy McInnis (.321 BA), the A’s trumped the New York Giants in the World Series four games to two.


It marked the first back-to-back World Series victories for the Athletics, a feat accomplished only one other time by a Philadelphia-based team (1929-30 A’s).

Shown in the photo, which was taken along the rightfield wall at Shibe Park, are:

Back Row (left to right): Harry Davis, Frank Baker, Jack Coombs, Harry Krause, Ira Thomas, Chief Bender, Claude Derrick, Cy Morgan, Paddy Livingstone

Center Row (left to right): Rube Oldring, Bris Lord, Danny Murphy, Connie Mack, Eddie Plank, Jack Lapp, Amos Strunk

Front Row (left to right): Topsy Hartsel, Doc Martin, Dave Danforth, Louis van Zelst (mascot), Stuffy McInnis, Eddie Collins, Jack Barry

Tags: , , ,

1 comment

  1. Valerie

Trackback e pingback

No trackback or pingback available for this article

Leave a Reply